Hello Africa (Sp. Week 6)

I got accepted into the Peace Corps!!!! It’s official, I’ll be leaving to teach english in Sierra Leone for two years! Wow. Just typing that i can feel my excitement turn into anxiety. I have been talking about going to Africa for forever it seems. Now that the time has come, it;s a little scary, but I am truly so grateful.

It’s going to be hard. I have no doubt in my mind that there are going to be days where the heat will almost be unbearable, I’ll be so home sick that it will hurt, or I’ll second my guess my decision and incessantly worried about the future. BUT. I also have no doubt in my mind that I will love it. I truly believe that I’ll feel like I’m making a difference.

I think this is the first big thing that I’m truly doing for myself. I love Howard, and it’s been one of the best decision of my life, but going college was for my family. It was expected of me, and I never even questioned if it was something that I wanted, nor did I have the ability to. Even internships and jobs in the past, I needed them and wanted them because I needed them. However this, I want it with every fiber in my being.

I told Alex about it and we are trying to strategizing how to utilize my degree and still enjoy my time abroad. I do want to document my experience somehow but I know what’s the best way to go about it. Whether I keep a daily journal or buy a camera so i can film my experience. Also with film you have to consider, access to batteries, access to charging said batteries, editing capabilities, and wifi to upload to the videos. Alex wants me to get Whats App, so I can start using alternative forms of communication. He also wants  me to start watching youtube videos to find out what’s the best software to edit video on my phone. My next assignment is to shoot a package, using the only resources I’ll have abroad. I don’t how that’s going to work, this will interesting.

Leave a Reply

