A Howard Woman

Since the first moment I stepped on campus, I knew Howard University was the school for me. Unbeknownst to me at the time, Howard University would soon change my entire life, the way I looked at the world, and the way I looked at myself. As a senior in high school, I visited Howard in the fall for Homecoming. From the outside looking in, this school seemed like it would be fun and effortless.

Upon entering the following year as a freshman, I was hit with a major reality check. While I was mainly looking forward to the social aspect of life at Howard, I gained so much more. My classes and professors challenged me and pushed to think creatively and critically. I was challenged to look at the world differently and learned things about the history of the world that I never would have known. Being at Howard exposed me to knowledge about the history of Africa and ancient African civilizations that created a strong sense of pride within me. Howard also gave me a better understanding of politics in America and how systemic racism has negatively affected people of color around the world. For me, Howard has served as a vessel of self discovery.

Being a Bison has helped me understand what it means to be an African American woman living in a society where we are devalued and placed at a disadvantage. Coming from a predominately white school, I didn’t have a strong sense of self and identity. Since coming to Howard, I have been able to cultivate a strong sense of self and learn more about who I am as a woman and as an African American. I have seen the strength and power that we wield in society despite being underprivileged and it has empowered me to become the best version of myself. Without Howard, I would never have seen the refinement and tenacity that exists within the Black woman and for that I am forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

